NARAL Pro-Choice America

Shortcut Navigation:

Get Email Updates


Donate to NARAL Pro-Choice America Now

Your gift will help us protect choice at all levels.

Donate Now


March 20, 2009

NARAL Pro-Choice America PAC Endorses Scott Murphy

Pro-choice group has 3,802 member activists in New York's 20th Congressional District

Washington, DC – Nancy Keenan, president of NARAL Pro-Choice America, announced that her organization's political action committee proudly endorsed Scott Murphy in the special election slated for March 31 in New York's 20th Congressional District.

NARAL Pro-Choice America has 3,802 member activists in the 20th District. Murphy's opponent, Jim Tedisco, touts on his web site an endorsement from the National Right to Life Committee, an organization that opposes legal abortion, even in cases of rape and incest.

"Scott Murphy will be an outstanding advocate for the mainstream values of New York's 20th District," Keenan said. "Voters have a clear choice in this race. Tedisco opposes legal abortion and wants politicians to interfere in women's personal, private decisions. Murphy will stand up for women's freedom and privacy and continue the Empire State's tradition of strong pro-choice advocates, such as Kirsten Gillibrand, Hillary Clinton, and Charles Schumer."

NARAL Pro-Choice America PAC endorsed Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand in both of her successful races for this congressional seat. Overall, NARAL Pro-Choice America's political program has helped produce enormous gains for pro-choice forces in Congress, including the combined net gain of 44 pro-choice seats in the House and eight new pro-choice senators in the 2006 and 2008 election cycles. In its 2008 post-election analysis, National Journal ranked NARAL Pro-Choice America second among the nation's top 21 political organizations for its impressive win rate among endorsed congressional candidates in hotly contested races.


Bookmark and Share

©2017 NARAL Pro-Choice America   Copyright Information

Paid for by NARAL Pro-Choice America,, and not authorized by any candidate or candidate's committee.