Take Action
October 20, 2022

Peninsula Power of Choice 2022

In-person experience: 11:15 am - 1:30 pm PST

Special Instructions:

This will be a hybrid event, with options to experience the event virtually or in-person. The virtual broadcast will be from 12:30 - 1:30 PM PT. The in-person experience will be from 11:15 AM-1:30 PM PT at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Palo Alto. In an effort to gather as safely as possible, food and drinks will be served on the outdoor patio from 11:15 AM -12:15 PM PT. From there, guests will move inside for the speaking presentation from 12:30-1:30 PM PT. We are requiring all of our guests to provide proof of vaccination (including booster) and to wear KN/N95/KF94 masks while indoors.

If sending donations via mail:
Please send to 1725 Eye St NW, Ste. 900, Washington, DC 20006.
We have been notified by the USPS to please expect several weeks’ delay in the acknowledgment of your gift.

Download our Peninsula 2022 Donation Form, here

Featured Speakers

Sen. Toni G. Atkins
California State Senate President pro Tempore

Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins represents the 39th Senate District, which includes San Diego, Coronado, Del Mar, and Solana Beach, and parts of unincorporated Rancho Santa Fe. Atkins was born and raised in southwestern Virginia—the daughter of a miner and a seamstress—and graduated with a bachelor’s degree from Emory & Henry College in Virginia. From her eight-year tenure on the San Diego City Council to her years in the Legislature, Atkins has dedicated her career to serving as a champion for reproductive justice, affordable housing, the environment, healthcare, veterans, women, and the LGBTQ community. She was the first San Diegan and first lesbian Speaker of the Assembly, and in March 2018, became the first woman and openly LGBTQ person to lead the California State Senate. She is the first person in 150 years, and the third person in California history, to lead both houses of the Legislature.

Rev. Sen. Kim Jackson
Georgia State Senator and Vicar, Church of the Common Ground, Atlanta (She/Her)

Kim serves as Senator for Georgia State Senate District 41, representing portions of Dekalb and Gwinnett counties. Kim works every day to build a safer, fairer, and more prosperous Georgia and bring the diverse voices of her district to the Capitol: immigrants, refugees, and people living on the margins.

In her first term, Kim has defended our voting rights against relentless attacks; authored life-saving legislation for stalking victims (SB 75 "Lease Release"), which passed both chambers unanimously; secured unprecedented funds for Black farmers; started serving as co-chair of the Mental Health Caucus, and earned an appointment to the Georgia Commission on Family Violence.

An Episcopal priest from the rural South, Kim made Georgia home over a decade ago. After graduating from Furman University, Kim volunteered as an EMT and led her colleagues at Emory's Candler School of Theology to advocate for Criminal Justice Reform in Georgia. Upon receiving her Master of Divinity, Kim commenced her vocation as an Episcopal priest. Over the past 11 years of ministry, she has served as a college chaplain, a nationally renowned consultant and preacher, and a parish priest. As the Vicar of the Church of the Common Ground, Kim co-creates a church with people who are experiencing homelessness in downtown Atlanta.

Kim and her spouse live on a small hobby farm in Stone Mountain with goats, ducks, honeybees, and chickens.

Rep. Joanna McClinton
Democratic Leader, Pennsylvania House of Representatives (She/Her)

House Democratic Leader Joanna McClinton was first elected in 2015 to serve communities in west and southwest Philadelphia, as well as Yeadon and Darby in Delaware County. As a state lawmaker, she has made history twice - first in 2018, when she became the first woman and first African American to be elected as House Democratic Caucus Chair, and again in 2020 when she was the first woman elected House Democratic Leader in the institution’s 244-year history.

Leader McClinton earned her law degree from Villanova University School of Law, interning at Regional Housing Legal Services, the Philadelphia District Attorney's Office, and the Defender Association of Philadelphia. She was an assistant public defender for seven years and became assistant chief of the East Zone during her last year, helping attorneys with case preparation.

Mini Timmaraju
President of NARAL Pro-Choice America (She/Her)

Mini Timmaraju is a seasoned campaigner, skilled coalition-builder, high-impact organizer, and talented organizational leader with over 20 years of experience leading federal, state, and local campaigns, as well as advocacy efforts around reproductive rights, gender justice, and racial justice.

Mini has a wealth of governmental and political experience at the state and federal level, including advising the Biden-Harris Administration on diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility and serving as Women’s Vote Director on the 2016 Hillary Clinton presidential campaign. Mini has also worked on reproductive rights in Texas and at the national level and worked for several Members of Congress.

Thank You To Our Sponsors

Platinum Sponsors: $100,000+
Cecilia Barajas
Shannon Hunt-Scott
Sheryl Sandberg

Champion Sponsors: $25,000+
Jody Bostic
Paula Hurd
Laura Lauder
Leonard & Preeva Tramiel

Defender Sponsors: $15,000+
Steve & Peggy Dow
Judy Estrin
Eva Grove
Susan Hyatt
Sue & Dick Levy
Pandia Health

Advocate Sponsors: $10,000+
Susan Z. Breyer
Hon. Jennifer DiBrienza & Jesse Dorogusker
Wynne Segal Dubovoy
Dianne Giancarlo
Darlene K. Mann
Phyllis Moldaw
Amanda Peiffer
Robyn Reiss
Lilli Rey
Robina Riccitiello
Sarah Sands
Mary Speiser
Kirsten Wolberg

Leader Sponsors: $5,000+
Samira Amid-Hozour
Kathleen Anderson
Margalynne Armstrong & Andrew Pierce
Martha Arscott
Andy & Rebecca Barfknecht
Brandee Barker
Nancy Blachman
Joanna Chai & Cynthia Adwere
Diana Chapman Walsh
Fran Codispoti
Barbara & Chris Creed
Mary & Bob Dodge
Hanson & Alexandra Gifford
Patti Grant

Abbie Knopper
Liz & Marty Korman
Iris & Hal Korol
Marian Kremer
Terry Luchsinger
Jackie & Richard Mayer
Lydia Moran
Kim O’Keefe Beck, Ph.D
Barbara Proulx
Susie Richardson
Dr. Michelle Sandberg
Sunny Scott
Ellen Winick Stross

Partner Sponsors: $3,000+
Bonnie Burdett Walker
Michael F. Donner
Kathy Giori
Barbara Harriman Spreng
Susie Hwang & Matt Glickman
Sara Imershein, MD
David & Teresa Korol
Galina Leytes
Lisa P. Lindelef
Carol Mayer Marshall
Kaye Moser Hierbaum Ford LLP Family Law
Camilla Neri
Katy Orr
Jill Parker
Tanya Prioste
Lauren & Elizabeth Ross
Libby Tyree-Taylor
The Village Doctor
Mara Frankel Wallace
Michele Wang
Steve Westly

Sponsor Ticket: $1,500+
Lage Andersen
Julie L Arnheim
Kathryn Bogue Harris
Gwen Books
Denise M. Brosseau
Lisa Dolby Chadwick
Monica Corman
Anne O. Dauer
Barbara Deméré
Dianne Gershuny
Aimee Gildea & Marc Berman

Nonie Greene
Barbara Gross
Elizabeth Grover
Laura Hattendorf
George & Leslie Hume
Loreen Jackson
Julie Kaufman
Paulette Kessler
Hon. Judy Kleinberg
Hon. Liz Kniss
Linda Kraemer
Sharon Kristensen Deméré
Bren Leisure
Connie Loarie
Vivian Loh Nahmias
Kathie Lowry
Lynn Mitchell
Nicki Moffat
Judy & Brad O’Brien
Maureen O’Connor
Brenda Panagrossi
Jaime Patel
Nicole Rubin
Sherri R. Sager
Dorothy Saxe
Lisa & Steven Schatz
Ursula Schorn
Ellen M. Snee, Ed.D
Patricia Stone Ortenberg
Gazelle Summe
Virginia Turner Hess
Lynn K.Telford
Mary Lee Wachtel
Camille Watson
Jane & Craig Williams
Arthur Van Hoff & Marleen Zwiers Charitable Fund

We apologize for any accidental misspellings or omissions. List is as of 9.30.22